Welcome to My New Blog!

Standard

Writing was always something for which I had a great passion. There was just never enough time. Until I moved to Dubai, that is. A combination of staying out of the heat, not being a great mall-hopper, & having the words – galling at the time, but now I’m so glad of them – “Housewife/Not allowed to work” printed on my visa, gave me just what I needed – the gift of time.

But what to write? Well, what did I like to read? I’m an old fashioned girl at heart. I’ve always loved H E Bates’ Pop Larkin stories and P G Wodehouse’s tales of Jeeves and Wooster, but they were published in a totally different time, almost another world. Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde had long been favourite contemporary authors of mine, so what about trying my hand at romance?

Ok, I’d chosen my genre. Now where was I going to set my writing? Well, it had to be Dubai, didn’t it! But setting romantic fiction in a country where public displays of affection can get you into trouble?

Well, never let it be said I like to make life easy for myself …

A quick word of thanks, before I go, to my blog-fairy-godmother, Morgen, for her help with this first post. I’m a low-tech kind of girl, so hopefully it won’t all be downhill from here – but I’m not promising!

Leave a Reply

