Writing in the Sand about Favourite Christmas Novels …

Standard

I love Christmas as much now as when I was a child. Having spent more Christmases than I’d choose to away from family and home, I’ve developed a huge fondness for Christmas novels.

There are plenty of wonderful Christmas themed novels to choose from, but my favourite just has to be Trisha Ashley’s Twelve Days of Christmas.Twelve Days of Christmas blog pic

Published by Avon in 2010, Twelve Days of Christmas is a heart-warming tale. Holly Brown is a young woman with plenty of reason to avoid Christmas. Brought up in a “Strange Baptist” household, Holly had been secretly envious of her school friends. When she married, she was finally able to enjoy the festive Christmases she’d dreamed of, with her husband, Alan. However, they weren’t to have many of them  …

Now a young widow, after Alan’s Christmastime death, the festive season is too painful. Holly, who spends her summers cooking for house parties, spends her winters house sitting for those who are spending their Christmases away from home. She can be alone, work on recipes for her house-party cook book and most importantly, have nothing to do with Christmas.

But the fates have other ideas for Holly. Her December house-sit on the Lancashire moors gives her little time alone, courtesy of heavy blizzards and the handsome Jude Maitland. Her recipes get plenty of testing, as more and more of Jude’s family join them, and rather than having nothing to do with the season, she ends up right at the centre of everybody’s Christmas.

I won’t spoil the surprises, for those who haven’t yet read it. But I will say this – Make sure you have plenty of mince -pies and other Christmas goodies in before you start reading, because with all the wonderful food in this novel, you’re going to end up hungry just reading it!

Happily, Trisha  http://trishaashley.com  has added some of the recipes at the end of the book. I can highly recommend the ginger and spice Christmas tree biscuits!

Trisha’s novel for this Christmas is Wish Upon on a Star. I can’t say anything about it yet because Santa’s bringing it for me – I’ll just have to be patient! I asked Trisha about her favourite Christmas novel and she said Wrapped up in You, by Carole Matthews. So my next post will be about that and I’ll get Carole to tell me about her favourite too …

One response »

  1. Pingback: Christmas Book Review: 12 Days of Christmas by Trisha Ashley | CrossedPages

Leave a Reply

